ǝʌıʇɔǝdsɹǝd / persepctive

May 2, 2014 § 5 Comments

20140502-154138.jpg   This poem reminds me to celebrate life’s everyday moments whilst enjoying glimpses of eternity. We cannot own joy, but we can create it, experience it and let it go (holding onto it would make us captive).

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to ǝʌıʇɔǝdsɹǝd / persepctive

  • Tiegan says:

    William Blake. I shall look him up (I’ve read more of the other two Williams- Wordsworth and Shakespeare).

    I wrote a post on my favourite contemporary poet, Brenda Shaughnessy, here: https://harbourwave.wordpress.com/2015/11/08/artless-a-poem-by-brenda-shaughnessy/

    The stanzas are meant to be tercets, but WordPress won’t let me leave lines between them.

    • Mimi says:

      Hi Teigan, thank you for your comment and link. I enjoy exposure to positive new things – particularly books, poems, art and culture. What do you like about Artless and do you have an all time favourite poem (i’m guessing that it wouldn’t be called “untitled”) 🙂

      • Tiegan says:

        Mimi,

        You’re welcome.

        I’m the same: I love discovering contemporary poetry in particular. I think I like, above all, the tragic lyricism of the poem. Brenda Shaughnessy is a very talented poet.

        Artless would probably be among my favourite poems, as well as some poems by Jamison Crabtree (who is also my poetry mentor at the moment).

      • Mimi says:

        Teigan, speaking of Jamison Crabtree – you might like today’s post 🙂

        Brenda Shaughnessy’s words evoke quite vivid imagery. For tragic lyricism I adore Heinrich Heinne’s ‘They Were in Love’, plus Bryon’s ‘Love’s Philosophy’. Do you write your own poetry too?

      • Tiegan says:

        Yup. I read it. It’s a wonderful poem. And yes, I do write my own. A few have been published 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ǝʌıʇɔǝdsɹǝd / persepctive at oftenimitated.

meta

