Update / 3 positive things

August 12, 2014 § Leave a comment

My mother has recently died – hence the blogging hiatus.

At this difficult time of contemplation and personal self examination – I have opted to find joy in my circumstances and life rather than focus on my grief as with my Father (Patrick’s) death – which carried a timescale of two decades. As a 33 year old, that’s a tremendously large portion of life to have spent in an almost ’emotional stasis’. The experience did however fortify & prepare me for my mother’s passing. 

So, without further ado, here are my 3 positive things:10525723_10154311427530858_5538764401149712974_n

1. Seizing the good opportunities in life (love, travel, education etc)

Theoretically, each passing generation is afforded greater advantages & opportunities than those that have proceeded. Travel is enriching, educates, shifts perspective & cultivates. It also reminds me that life is an adventure.
{Picture 1: Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II which connects Piazza del Duomo to Piazza del Scala}.


2. Memories of my late Father

Patrick was gentle man & gentleman. He valued intelligence, good character, kindness & hard work; was well regarded, well travelled, multi lingual & died a fulfilled man – a privilege that few experience (true fulfilment in life). In addition to the many valuable life lessons, I cherish our fond memories of cooking together. Therefore, cooking is a cathartic & nostalgic experience.
{Picture 2 : Wild rice & roasted vegetables which took 25 minutes to prepare from scratch}.

3. Being married

I’m a private person but can divulge that some of the most useful counsel we’ve given following our marriage was “Put your husband / wife above all. They should be your dearest confidant, best friend etc. Remember, your children will leave the nest one day.” Sufficeth to say that good things come in tall packages.
{Picture 3: a quick snapshot whilst excitedly packing for a weekend getaway with my husband}.

All pics were taken with my iPad or Blackberry.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Update / 3 positive things at oftenimitated.

meta

