Spring has just sprung and I am impatiently sating wanderlust one artwork at a time.

March 21, 2016 § 19 Comments

This exquisite painting by John Singer Sargent is titled ‘Palms’, was painted in 1917 & is currently displayed in the Worcester Art Museum [Massachusetts].

“People look for retreats for themselves, in the country, by the coast, or in the hills … There is nowhere that a person can find a more peaceful and trouble-free retreat than in his own mind.… So constantly give yourself this retreat, and renew yourself.
—MARCUS AURELIUS”

I’m delighted to catch up with some reading – the first title is Thrive by Arianna Huffington. It’s quite an engaging read; I’m at the chapter which extols the virtues of meditation, which I’d been quite reticent about till having it be redefined as a method flexible enough to adopt existing traditions and beliefs, including the practice of mindfulness. My personal system is similar – typified by prayer, contemplation, striving for betterment and increased personal awareness, utilising gratitude) and centering exercises (combining inner peace, maintaining stillness of mind and positive focus in stressful situations).  I eagerly await the health / happiness benefits from more fully incorporating this practise into daily life.

Isn’t it a universal goal to create a life from which you don’t need to vacation (or to escape) from, and a heart and mind which are in peaceful accordance?


 Tell me more about you

  • How do you maintain happiness during stressful occasions?
  • What makes you feel most peaceful?

 

Mimi ✗O

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 19 Responses to Spring has just sprung and I am impatiently sating wanderlust one artwork at a time.

  • I think it is important to have a life that you are not always trying to escape from. If that is the case, there is something that needs to be reevaluated in your grand scheme of things.

  • I think there’s a difference between vacation and escape. Folks that work hard at what they do deserve a vacation.

    • Mimi says:

      I quite agree. Recently, a colleague said they felt unable to sustain the peace they’d felt when vacationing and as though it was all a distant memory. No one loves returning from vacation, however, it shouldn’t cause impaired health and happiness. If we know how to create peace when surrounded by turmoil, it’ll positively impact our lives.

  • Rosemond says:

    I’ve been trying to incorporate more mediation into my day and often find it goes to the bottom of the pile. I feel so much better when I do take the time to be mindful and still.

    • Mimi says:

      I think it’s part of the human condition to attend to whatever matter which takes precedence (requires the most attention), over our own care – particularly as women. So, i’m going to very disciplined. On those occasions when mindfulness or meditation is not fully practiced, i’ll still pray and will incorporate three things into the day which make my soul happy. That could be something creative (literally creating something, looking at a piece of art, listening to good music) or learning a new skill. Either way, it’s a flexible win win approach.

  • I am going to the Worcester Art Museum this weekend. I will keep an eye out for that painting.

    • Mimi says:

      Oh my goodness, that’s so exciting. If you have a chance to photograph it (some galleries are amenable), could you tag me on IG? i’m @missoharro

  • thebarbella says:

    Great post. I try to stay active and make sure to have time scheduled everyday to do something for me. I try to set up a few dates a week that include one with my hubby and some with my girlfriends, and some with the book store to just sit and be. Yoga also helps!

  • Julie @ Running in a Skirt says:

    I love yoga and prayer is also something I turn too. Meditation is something so interesting. I’d love to learn more about it to let go.

  • Yoga is big for me to mediate and relax but I notice that I start wanting a vacation when Im super stressed

  • Liz Mays says:

    Being with my kids helps erase my stress. They just make me feel zen. I also love naps! lol

  • Ave Hla says:

    Being with my husband and daughter helps me to destress. A good book and spending some time at the beach are for maintaining happiness too.

  • Michele says:

    I am most peaceful when I am cuddled in bed under my quilt reading a good book with my cat purring right next to me.

  • During stressful situations, I often think about the fact that I have to keep myself healthy for my two sons. Stress can kill you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring has just sprung and I am impatiently sating wanderlust one artwork at a time. at oftenimitated.

meta

