Day 1 of ’31 days to a simpler life’. Today’s focus is on being present, focused and simplifying.

April 28, 2016 § 4 Comments

Rather than make the accomplishing of the above task insurmountable I have divided everything across a 31 day period so as to ensure consistent, sustainable change towards greater peace and balance. For example, actions for day 2 entailed : 1) identifying the essential, 2) eliminating the rest, 3) maintaining focus & succeeding.

What I enjoy most is that this 31 day plan aligns with my life’s mission and purpose – thereby making it inspiring and motivating. Writing, prioritising and planning goals ensures that they are more likely to be accomplished in comparison to the individual who solely dreams of the achievement without having taken the necessary action.  You’ve heard of the saying “I have half a mind to do something….”, of half measures, Winston Churchill said :
“The era of procrastination, of half-measures, of soothing and baffling expedients, of delays is coming to its close. In its place we are entering a period of consequences.”
I like the pragmatism of this quote, which reminds me that all we need do is take that first step toward the attainment of at least one goal every day. The circumstances need not be perfect, nor do we need to have 100% foresight. Just plan bit by bit and continue till the task is completed.

How I manage stumbling blocks
When faced with a stumbling block such as fear for example, I [as a teenager] learnt to re-focus by visualising myself achieving the goal(s).  I do not permit fear to stop or distract me.  I’m not impervious to perfectionism or over-thinking a project’s strategy prior to commencement – I merely utilise a solution which re-directs my focus back to what’s important.


picture via my Instagram

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Day 1 of ’31 days to a simpler life’. Today’s focus is on being present, focused and simplifying.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 1 of ’31 days to a simpler life’. Today’s focus is on being present, focused and simplifying. at oftenimitated.

meta

